Those That



The Hazlewood Act of Texas

By USVCP Staff Writers

July 22, 2018


The Hazlewood Act is a State of Texas benefit that provides qualified Veterans, spouses, and dependent children with an education benefit of up to 150 hours of tuition exemption, including most fee charges, at public institutions of higher education in Texas. This does NOT include living expenses, books, or supply fees. To qualify a veteran must:


  • At the time of entry into the U.S. Armed Forces, designate Texas as Home of Record; or entered the service in Texas; or was a Texas resident;
  • Have received an honorable discharge or separation or a general discharge under honorable conditions;
  • Served at least 181 days of active duty service (excluding training);
  • Have no federal Veteran’s education benefits, or have no federal Veterans education benefits dedicated to the payment of tuition and fees only (such as Chapter 33 or 31; Pell and SEOG are not relevant) for term or semester enrolled that do not exceed the value of Hazlewood benefits;













  • Not be in default on a student loan made or guaranteed by the State of Texas; and
  • Enroll in classes for which the college receives tax support (i.e., a course that does not depend solely on student tuition and fees to cover its cost), unless the college’s governing board has ruled to let Veterans receive the benefit while taking non-funded courses.


Hazlewood Act FAQs


College Charges Covered


What charges are covered?














The Hazlewood Act exempts qualified students taking classes at public institutions of higher education in Texas from all tuition and fee charges, but does not include properly deposits or student services fees.


What charges are not covered?


Books, supplies and living expenses are not covered, nor are properly deposit and student services fees.


Is there a limit to the number of years or semesters a Texas veteran can receive the Hazlewood Exemption?


No. However, there is a limit on the number of semester credit hours that they may be exempted by the program. The exemption will cover all up to 150 semester credit hours. This limit is not per institution, but is a cumulative total per eligible participant.