Hazlewood Act FAQs


College Charges Covered


What charges are covered?


The Hazlewood Act exempts qualified students taking classes at public institutions of higher education in Texas from all tuition and fee charges, but does not include properly deposits or student services fees.


What charges are not covered?


Books, supplies and living expenses are not covered, nor are properly deposit and student services fees.


Is there a limit to the number of years or semesters a Texas veteran can receive the Hazlewood Exemption?


No. However, there is a limit on the number of semester credit hours that they may be exempted by the program. The exemption will cover all up to 150 semester credit hours. This limit is not per institution, but is a cumulative total per eligible participant.


How does the exemption work? Will I get a check in the mail for tuition?


The Hazlewood Act is an exemption from the payment of tuition and most fees. There is no money changing hands with this benefit. The institution the student attends absorbs the cost of tuition and some fees for that student.


Dependents & Residency


Which dependents may qualify for Hazlewood Act benefits?


Children of service members who are killed in the line of duty or who die as a result of injury or illness directly related to military service are eligible for Hazlewood Act benefits providing the child was a dependent of the Texas service member at the time he/she died. The student will need to provide official military documentation indicating he/she meets the requirement.


Effective June 16, 2007, children of Texas service members who receive 100% VA disability benefits as a result of a disability or being individually unemployable are also eligible for this benefit. The student will need to provide official documentation from the Department of Veterans Affairs indicating that the service member has a 100% individual unemployability rating. In addition, the child must have been a dependent of the service member when the service member sustained the disabling injury or when the service member was declared to be unemployable by the VA.


Does the Hazlewood Act provide benefits to the spouses of veterans?


No.  It only provides benefits to the dependent children.


Would a veteran who was a dependent when his/her parents moved to Texas and who shortly thereafter entered the service is eligible?


To be eligible, the veteran must have been a resident of Texas at the time he/she enlisted. The residence of a dependent child is that of the parents, but parents who move to Texas would not be considered Texas residents for tuition purposes until they had been in the state 12 months. If a veteran, who, as a dependent, enlisted in fewer than 12 months after his/her parents move to Texas, he or she would not have been a resident of Texas at the time of enlistment and is, therefore, not eligible for Hazlewood Act benefits.


| 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | Next>>
See your VSO for more details.

What Every Veteran Should Carry 
No longer will you have to carry around your DD Form 214 as proof of your military service.  The Veteran ID Card will quickly establish you as a veteran, along with other essential benefits.  More...
Veteran ID Card w/Picture
Veteran ID Card

Sign-Up for our FREE Veteran Newsletters and FREE Veteran Alerts.

Full name:
 * required
Email address:
 * required

I agree to receive FREE veteran newsletters and alerts.